Embrace America's Rivers

Ohio River Guidebook Reviews

"The Ohio River Guidebook does have several good places to anchor and camp, here and there. This book appears to be a must for anyone traveling anywhere on the Ohio River."

                                                                                                                                                               The Jeff & Glenn's Ohio River Trip 2012

Great book for river cruising

We used this book on a boat trip from Pittsburgh to the Mississippi River. I have to say that this book was the most valuable tool we had for navigation. It helped us find marinas, anchorage locations, supplies, camping spots and much more. We didn't even need our charts and GPS. In addition to navigational information it had great "river travel tips" and info about all of the river towns along the way. The maps are excellent, showing details of every mile. Highly recommended!                                                                                   By D. Goodale


A Trip-Tik on The Ohio

Purchased this book for our son-in-law prior to his first cruising/overnight trip down the Ohio. He was ecstatic to get it, and referred to it as a trip-tik. It is a reference book full of information for the novice, as well as the experienced boater. It not only provides a historical background of the cities located on the Ohio River, it also tells the reader where the locks/dams are and how to maneuver through them, as well as places to get fuel, food, lodging, etc

By Fair Maiden on August 27, 2013


Great Resource, MUST HAVE!

This will be a great resource when taking my 17' Montauk into Pittsburgh and checking out the river. In my opinion this will be priceless while on the the river especially with navigating the Locks and limited places to dock/fuel up.

                                                                                                                                                                            By Michigander on April 11, 2014


Accuracy and detail outstanding

The accuracy and detail of the maps allows you to use this for planning navigation routes even without the US Army Corps charts. The description and locations of services, marinas, anchorages, and attractions was up to date when I traveled in August of 2015. Derby Indiana no longer had gas, but the community was working on setting up a new cooperative store. Beyond that, every thing was spot on usable. It made my trip so much more enjoyable!

September 18, 2015


Don't put it off...

This book is definitely worth the purchase. It breaks the river down into 35 Sections with a narrative page and a sketch map of each. The narrative page covers what to expect on each section. It details places of interest and how far from the river they are. It also explains where ramps and known obstacles are. The map coincides with the narrative and points out areas discussed. Some maps also feature river travel tips. I haven't taken my trip yet, but this was very easy to read and very informative. I put off purchasing this book because there were no reviews. I am so glad I decided to go forward. So far this looks like it might be the best money spent for any one item for our trip.

                                                                                                                                                                                                     By Nathan J. Gramm


Wabash River Guidebook Reviews


Useful book for exploring the Wabash River

There aren't many river guide books around, and Jerry Hay has probably written most of them. This is a useful book for exploring the Wabash River in Indiana, and one of his other books "Rivers Revealed" is a book of stories and an interesting read. 

                                                                                                                                                                   By Backroad on December 9, 2014


Wabash River Guidebook

Excellent history of the Wabash River, with detailed maps of 35 separate segments of the River, from its source to the Ohio River. Superior research by the author with photos, including aerial views. Indispensable for readers interested in the Wabash River. By Billcwk on June 13, 2012


Between the banks: A canoe trip down the Wabash River

Hay has traveled the length of the Wabash River and many others, scouting, recording, and mapping the waterway. His travels played a key role in inspiring our trip down Indiana’s state river.                                                                  by Eric Stearley and Mary Fuson-Stearley


White River Guidebook Reviews

This is the essential book for those wanting to explore the White River in Indiana by boat, canoe or kayak. It has all the hazards, camp sites, supply locations and a lot of other information on boat East and West Forks of the river from beginning to end. 

                                                                                                                                                                                                     Good Reads.com

Outstanding guide to White River

We used his book to plan an overnight canoeing trip down White River for my Boy Scout Troop. It went well. We would have been lost without it.  Carter C. Keith on August 19, 2013


White River East Fork

Very informative. I intend to paddle some of the river this summer and the detailed maps with access and supply points will be very useful.                                                                                                                                                                                      By john on March 20, 2013

awesome

This is a great guide for the white river. I love it great for my 3 day trip on the river this year. THANK YOU.

Zach Austerman on April 25, 2014


Make this a part of your River Trip packing list.

Very good and informative. If you are going to float either fork of the White River; take this book.                       By Dave on March 8, 2016


Illinois Waterway Guidebook Reviews

A Great Book

A friend of ours had this book when we took a Long 200 mile plus ride up and down the Illinois River. Everything in the book was accurate and it made the trip allot of added fun. It told us to stay out of area's like large lakes that were silting over, that saved us the embarrassment of getting stuck in shallow waters. We're Looking forward to doing the river again and wouldn't go without it. The book deserves more then 5 stars.                                                                                                                                      Dannjr, September 27, 2011


River guide

This is the second guide I have ordered and I have been very satisfied. Iam planning a river trip and this is just what I needed to get everything mapped out.                                                                                                                                 Sandra Nussel on March 14, 2013



Tennessee River Guidebook

great guide

This book was a great help on our trip. We rode jet skis from chattanooga to Knoxville friday. spent the night at the marriot and rode back on Saturday. The guide was very accurate. My friends thought I was really smart. they didn't know I just had a very informative guide. Next we are using it to plan a three day trip from chattanooga to Land between the lakes.                             By happyhusband on May 24, 2012


... for a gift for an avid boater & he loved it!

Purchase for a gift for an avid boater & he loved it!                                                                                         By L A Bragg on March 29, 2015



Great product. Exactly as described

Great product. Exactly as described. By Missy on July 27, 2016


Cumberland River Guidebook

Cumberland River Compact

Let’s hear it for Jerry Hay! Hay has authored an exceptionally well researched guidebook for adventuring on the Cumberland River. We got our copy in the mail recently and ~CANNOT~ put it down. This guidebook “provides all the information needed to safely travel the river, including canoe put-ins and take-outs, boat launching ramps, food, supplies, lodging, marinas, hazards and much more.” In addition, there are 50+ charts covering every section of the river in great detail. Grab your own copy at the link below and get out there!

                                                                                                                                                                                       Facebook in February 2017


A real page turner, while underway!

A real page tuner, The maps have sufficient detail to plan routes and follow the main channels and track your progress. The narrative descriptions for each section of river covered contain actionable information that is up to date. If you are cruising the Cumberland River, you need to have this on your boat. The information, particularly on anchorages, fuel, marinas and services allows for confident trip planning.                                                                                                                                            By Kenneth Cooke on September 18, 2015


The boat "bobcat" prepares for a trip

We intend to pull our boat in the spring to a marina on the ohio and then travel the Cumberland as far as it is navigable near celina and back . This book will be very helpful on our trip and is very enjoyable reading now to help us prepare. 

By jim lefers on January 23, 2014


We took a boat trip from Grand Rivers, KY ...

We took a boat trip from Grand Rivers, KY. on Lake Barkley to the Cumberland River and proceeded all the way to Nashville, Tenn. The book was spot on! It helped tremendously.                                                                                                 By Joe Jahraus on August 18, 2014


Best book ever

Best book ever, was able to know where I was at the whole 70 mile trip down the Cumberland river. 

 By Carletta Priddy on October 24, 2014

                                                                                     HOME